The Hugh G. White Memorial Scholarship

In 2011, in memory of Hugh G. White, his family, friends, and colleagues established a fund with the Actuarial Foundation of Canada (AFC) to provide two annual scholarships to high school students entering an actuarial science or mathematics program at a Canadian university. The first scholarships were presented in the fall of the 2011–2012 academic year.

Hugh was a prominent actuary with Eckler, which he joined in 1999. Hugh consulted in the property and casualty practice, was head of the financial services group, and served on Eckler’s board of directors. Prior to joining Eckler, he spent 31 years with Zurich, where his positions included head of underwriting and risk management, chief financial officer, and chief actuary.

Throughout this career, Hugh devoted a great deal of time and energy as a volunteer in the work of the actuarial community. At the time of his death, he was the Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and a Director Emeritus of the AFC. These were only two in a long list of volunteer positions Hugh undertook, demonstrating his great willingness to help the profession evolve and improve.

Hugh was instrumental in the development of the AFC. One of its missions is to promote youth awareness and education in mathematics and financial matters. This memorial scholarship represents the very things that Hugh held dear: the love for his profession, excellence, and education. This award will promote these qualities among young students with a passion for mathematics and is a meaningful way to honour Hugh’s countless volunteer hours to the profession.

The fund is administered by the AFC. The foundation issues tax receipts, invests and manages all charitable donations for the fund, promotes the award among the actuarial community, and administers the annual distribution of the two scholarships. Each year, the two recipients of the scholarships are chosen from the high school Hugh attended, London Central Secondary School, and from the high school Hugh’s three children attended, Erin District High School.

The Hugh White Memorial Scholarship is presented annually to the graduating student from each of these schools with the highest mathematics marks. To qualify each student will have had to apply or be accepted into a Canadian university program leading to a degree in actuarial science, mathematics, statistics, or computer science.

Past recipients of this award are:

  • Camille DeThomasis, Ann Wright (2020)
  • Siyu Tang, Ranen Oomen-Dancker (2019)
  • Melissa Bill, Riley Benville (2018)
  • Linda Luo, Emma Bottomley (2017)
  • Josh King, Jacob Nelson (2016)
  • Steve Wan, Courtney Jones (2015)
  • Bill Lui, Andrew McEwen (2014)
  • Franco Quan (2013)
  • Jay Woo, Derek Ratz (2012)
  • Matt Boyd, Jonathan Beverley (2011)
  • 2011 Hugh White Scholarship recipient Matt Boyd
    2011 award recipient - Matt Boyd

Memorial Actuarial Aboriginal Scholarship

In 2013, with help from the Actuarial Foundation of Canada, the Actuarial Foundation (US) established a trust fund of $100,000 US at the University of Manitoba, again in memory of James C.H. Anderson. The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative also contributed to this scholarship. This renewable scholarship will be offered to an undergraduate student who :

  1. Is Aboriginal (Status, Non Status, Metis, Inuit);
  2. Is enrolled full time (minimum 24 credit hours) in any year of study at the I.H. Asper School of Business, the faculty of Science, or University 1;
  3. Has indicated his/her intent to pursue undergraduate studies in actuarial mathematics.

In years where no suitable candidate exists, the scholarship will be directed to the James C. H. Anderson Bursary, as per the donor’s wish.

The James C.H. Anderson Memorial Actuarial Scholarship Recipients:

  • Cassandra Phaneuf (2020)
  • Cassandra Phaneuf (2019)
  • Cassandra Phaneuf (2018)
  • Cassandra Phaneuf (2017)
  • Dylan Allary (2016)
  • Dylan Allary (2015)
  • Christian Torfason (2014)
  • Christian Torfason (2013)

James C.H. Anderson Bursary

In 2005, in conjunction with the Actuarial Foundation (our sister organization in the US), the Actuarial Foundation of Canada facilitated a contribution of $100,000 to provide bursary support to actuarial students in the Asper School of Business and faculty of science at the University of Manitoba, in memory of James C.H. Anderson (BA/52). The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative matched the contribution, thus establishing a fund of $200,000.

Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, James C.H. Anderson began his actuarial career by working for two insurance companies in his hometown while attending the University of Manitoba. Upon graduation he moved to the United States where he assumed subsequent positions of increasing responsibility throughout his 40 years of service in the insurance industry.

Three bursaries, each valued at one-third of the available annual interest, will be offered annually to undergraduate students who:

  1. are enrolled full-time (minimum 24 credit hours) in their second year of a four-year undergraduate program at the University of Manitoba, leading to either a
    1. Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) with a declared major in Actuarial Mathematics through the Asper School of Business, or
    2. Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Actuarial Mathematics (single or joint Honours program), through the Faculty of Science;
  2. have achieved a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0; and
  3. have demonstrated financial need on the standard University of Manitoba bursary application form.
  • 2020-21 Three students received the bursary
  • 2019-20 One student received the bursary
  • 2018-19 One student received the bursary
  • 2017-18 Two students received the bursary
  • 2016-17 Three students received the bursary
  • 2015-16 Three students received the bursary
  • 2014-2015: Three Science students received the bursary
  • 2013-2014: One actuarial Asper student and two actuarial science students
  • 2012-2013: Three actuarial science students received the bursary
  • 2011-2012: One actuarial Asper student and two Science students
  • 2010-2011: Three actuarial students
  • 2009-2010: Three actuarial students
  • 2008-2009: Three actuarial students
  • 2006-2007: Six actuarial students

Girl Guides of Canada (GGC) Scholarships

The Girl Guides of Canada’s National Scholarship program has been supporting its members for more than 30 years as they pursue their educational goals and rewarding career opportunities. The AFC is proud to contribute to three scholarships for graduating female students pursuing post-secondary education in a mathematics-related program.

To be eligible for the AFC scholarship, applicants must:

  1. Be a member of GGC,
  2. Be continuing their GGC membership in the upcoming year and remain an active participant,
  3. Be enrolled or enrolling in a recognized post-secondary institution which includes university, college or vocational school,
  4. Not be a past GGC National Scholarship,
  5. Be pursuing a post-secondary degree in actuarial science, mathematics, statistics or computer science.